4S7 Newsletter

No 1/1 July 1950.

Our Society has at last been formed. As you must know by now, it was decided to call it the Radio Society of Ceylon so that it may be more comprehensive than the name suggested in the draft rules. A fairly complete record of the proceedings of the meeting is given lower down.The first committee meeting also was held and one of it’s first decisions was that, a newsletter should be issued monthly. The main features are expected to be editorial comments, news and announcements of the society and the members activities. Extracts from current literature, short articles and personal advertisements of gear for exchange, sale, purchase etc. will also be published when the opportunity arises. The title and design as you see above  was provisionally adopted. The hut is supposed to be a ham shack, the coconut trees to show that it is Ceylon.A  tea bush or a rubber tree couldn’t be put in because they would not have been recognized as such in the drawing. The “map” is supposed to be an azimuthal equidistant projection on the world centered on Colombo. I am afraid the execution of the work leaves much room for improvement. It was not drawn by an artist and duplicator stencil is a difficult medium for a ham-handed ham to work on!. When a satisfactory design is developed, it can be executed by a competent person and reproduced more elegantly. Meanwhile any criticisms or suggestions will be greatly appreciated – or better still, some artistically inclined ham can send a design for the consideration of the committee. Here is a summary of the minutes of the inaugural meeting. Sixteen hams were present. Jim (VS7NX) thanked all those who were present and explained the purpose of the meeting. He then proposed Professor A.W. Malivaganam to the chair. Letters from six hams were tabled. Matters raised in them were subsequently discussed under the appropriate items. A formal resolution that a society of Ceylon Radio Amateurs be formed was duly adopted. The draft rules that were previously circulated were discussed in detail, amended and finally adopted in the amended form. It was decided to invite the Hon. Minister of Posts and Telecommunications and the Postmaster General to be the patron and the vice patron respectively.

The following office bearers and the committee were elected
President : Prof. A.W.Mailvaganam
Secretary : John Amaratunga
Committee : Jim White, A.M Rahim, Paul Sollom, Ernie Perera

As associate member would be elected when a sufficient number of such members were enrolled.

A vote of thanks to Mr. N. G Abeynayake Principal of the school was passed .The meeting terminated with a vote of thanks to the chair. After the meeting Paul took a photograph of those who attended. Unfortunately the available machinery does not permit me to publish it in this newsletter – or is it fortunately, because everyone looks so strained waiting for the delayed action shuttle to go off! In fact everyone was quite happy, judging by the look on their faces afterwards.

Back to History Page