Posted on

RSSL Dxpedition + Get Together a Great Success

The RSSL Dxpedition + Family Get Together was held as planned at Janaki’s Family Retreat, Hewainna.  RSSL council and Management is thankful to 4S7RR Ranjith and XYL Janaki for providing the location to RSSL and it’s members to have this event FREE of Charge.

The Event started around 9AM and the new members got a chance to put up a G5RV and learn Antenna orientations. Thereafter the Rigs were connected and the CQ calling was started after lunch. By the evening the stations started flowing in but the weather started turning against us. We had to stop the Dxing when the lightening got severe. A major windstorm tripped the Power OFF and toppled one HV line creating a blackout to the entire area.

But that didn’t hamper the enthusiasm and the good spirit of the member to continue the program under candle lights. The excellent presentations by Leo 4S7LF and Victor 4S7VK continued with lot of interest and interaction from members. By around 8PM the Electricity supply was restored using generator power. The BBQ headed by Bharat4S6ABC, Darshana 4S6DSI continued while the RF started oscillating by the sides.

The Kids had  tremendous fun playing around and finally got presents for their participation in the games. XYLs also got their own fellowship and got to know each-other. Many took part in Singing and enjoyed the real spirit of Ham Radio.

The event had a headcount close to 40 which was a great success.


Posted on

OBITUARY: ERNEST . AMARASINGHE 4S7EA 18-10-1935 to 05-03-2018.

It is with great sadness that the RSSL announces the passing away of one of Sri Lanka’s best known radio amateurs in the last 5 decades.  Ernest, known to many as a fine DXer on the DX bands, passed away on the 05th of March, two months after complications of  heart failure.  He passed away flanked by his wife Chandra with whom he celebrated their Golden wedding anniversary in 2017..

Ernest was a fine friend to many and helped many a foreign radio amateur to secure their licenses in Sri Lanka and operate from his home.  He won the hearts of many and their goodwill towards Sri Lanka and the Radio Society of Sri Lanka of which he was President for three consecutive years.  He is bestowed the honour of introducing VHF repeaters to Sri Lanka with his German friends in early 1982 .

He was a role model to many hams in Sri Lanka with his excellent HF operations, an excellent shack and a great Cubical Quad which was a landmark in suburban Colombo.  His shack was a show piece and impressed many and represented the nature of amateur radio in the eyes of the authorities.  Ernest was ever ready to help the young radio amateur and his home was always open to them and radio materials were given by him to many a young enthusiast to be on their way.

About 07 year ago Ernest and Chandra wound up activities in Sri Lanka and moved to California to live with his son Kavi 4S7KA and his wife.  However, he kept in touch with the RSSL and his friends back home and visited Sri Lanka every second year.

The RSSL extends its deepest sympathies to Chandra his XYL, Kavi his son and his XYL on the passing away of a fine radio amateur who brought great honour to the amateur service in Sri Lanka. We wish him the eternal bliss of Nibbana

His final rites will take place  on Saturday 10th March, at 1 PM at Hollywood Forever Cemetery in Santa Monica Blvd, California.

Messages of Condolence may be sent to

Kavi Amarasinghe.Kavi Amarasinghe,

20731 Keswick St,Winnetka CA 91306 USA.

and by Telephone  Chandra Ph. 818 7471044 and Kavi 818 2682371

Posted on

RSSL Dx-Pedition, Family Get Together and Flee Market.

RSSL Dx-Pedition, Family Outing and Flee Market at Janaki’s Forest Retreat, Hewainna (near Hanwella)

Latest News !!

  • 30+ Participant already confirmed and the number is growing..
  • Participants from all over the country plus Foreign Hams
  • Excursion Hike/Trip in the Kalatuwawa Forest reserve
  • Lot of Entertainment for Kids and XYLs including competitions.
  • Presentation on “Propagation” by 4S7VK
  • Discussion and Demo on “How to setup a Digital Mode station” by 4S7AB Kamal
  • Discussion on “Magnetic Loop Antennas” by 4S7LF Leo
  • Exceptional BBQ by our veteran 4S7UV – Uthpala
  • Flee Market – Bring all your hobby related ‘unwanted’ items and sell them.
  • And lot more surprises to come —Please stay tuned…

RSSL is planning to do a Dxpedition/Family outing at the above location for the benefit of the members as an annual event. This year RSSL is expecting a higher participation and higher enthusiasm from within membership. The team is planning to operate on HF and VHF including the latest digital modes. This is a good opportunity to work with the experienced hams and learn the skills on the job.

Date: 17th & 18th  March. Starting on Saturday late morning till Sunday morning.

Accommodation Policy:

There are 3 rooms available in this property. The rooms are given on a ‘first come first serve’ basis. Only families with children are given full rooms and the rest will have to share the rooms. Remaining crowd will need to bring in their own tents and sleeping bags if they plan to stay overnight.


Accommodation is provided FREE. For the meals, RSSL will charge a nominal fee of Rs 400 per person per meal. Children below 5 will be enrolled FREE. RSSL will pay the additional expenses for food and beverages. You need to bring your own RF. Separately, A BBQ is also planned depending on the demand of the participants.

If you are willing to participate in this event, please  inform Christy 4S6CPT (Mob 0715335818) , before the 10th March 2018 in order to organize the logistics.

How to get there :

If you do a Google search, then use the keyword “Hewainna Post office”. Our QTH is quite closeby.

By Vehicle : Come to Puwakpitiya Junction and turn towards Hewainna. Travel about 2.5km until you find the Sign Board for “Kumari Ella” the famous waterfall. From there take a left turn towards “Kumari Ella” and travel about 4km passing the main waterfall and sub waterfalls. Then you come to a junction with a roadside “Buddha Statue”. Turn left and go for another 1km until you find a montesori school or ask for Hewainna Sub Post office. Our QTH is very closeby. We will be there on 145.550 and Mobile phones to help you in case you need help.

Hoping to see you all.

-Secretary RSSL

Posted on

General Meeting February 2018

Dear Members,

Please note that General Meeting for the month of February will be held on the 28th of February 2018, 6PM at the ground floor room of the club shack building, Bambalapitiya.

The Agenda and the minutes of the previous monthly meeting are being circulated through email.

Cristy Perera-4S6CPT

Hon Secretary.


Posted on


Dear Members

We are planning to have the dx pedition at the location offered by Ranjith Gunawadana close to kalutuwawa water tank. We require to know how many are willing to participate for this as we need to make arrangements. We will have to finance the food only and we will let you know a per head charge for the food. This would be on a weekend and the date will be informed later .Please call 0715335818  or Send a SMS to this number and confirm your participation ASAP .73!
Cristy Perera-4C6CPT
Hon Secretary