Posted on

Monthly Meeting November 2018

THE GENERAL MEETING OF THE RADIO SOCIETY OF SRI LANKA will be held on the 8th of November 2018, commencing sharp on time at 6PM in the Karaoke Hall OTTER AQUATIC CLUB, BAUDHALOKA MAWATHA COLOMBO.

There will be a special guest of honour presentation, John Meyer NZ9Z who has been a great friend of the Sri Lankan Amateur community. John will be giving away a digital radio receiver. lucky draw amongst SWLs!!!
We have also scheduled a a technical presentation  on the UBITEX Transceiver kit that Lal 4S7LP is using which Ravi 4S6RAV put together.  All going well Ravi will tell you all about it and how you could get about it..  Lal will also tell you about the DX he has worked in addition to Sri Lankan and Indian stations with less than 7watts on SSB and CW.
All present will be served with refreshments as usual.

Hope to see you all at Otters.

We are looking into reviving the SMS alert system as well. Lets hope there will be no QRM taking things as they evolve as I write this notice, and life will be calm and we can enjoy fellowship.
73 and good DX
Victor Goonetilleke 4S7VK
Hony Secretary RSSL
Tel 0112614098/0711356113
Posted on

RSSL New council of Management 2018 -2019

The AGM which was held at Otters on Sunday the 23rd September was attended by 19 Licensed radio Amateurs and 5 SWLs. The following were elected uncontested.

New Council of Management. 2018-2019

1. President. Dammika Fernando 4S7DF
2. Ist Vice President. Nadika Hapuarachchi 4S6NCH
3. 2nd Vice President Jaliya Lokeshwara 4S7JL
4. Secretary Victor Goonetilleke 4S7VK
5. Treasurer Dharshana Sirimanne 4S7DSB

Council Members
1. Mahinda Abeyewardhane 4S7PA
2. Uthpala Vithane 4S7UV
3. Dilshan Aberewardene 4S6DLN
4. Singhe Wijesinghe 4S6LEO
5. Jayantha Salgamuwa 4S5SC

Associate Member Representatives.

1. Kingsly Wimalawanse
2. Ranil Hemantha.

Immediate Past President Bharath Aponso 4S6ABC
Immediate Past Secretary Cristy Perera 4S6CPT
Immediate Past Treasurer Jayasiri Wijereratne 4S7VJ.

Appointments by the Council

IARU Representative/Webmaster : Kamal Edirisinghe  4S7AB

BEACON Coordinator: Kamal Edirisinghe 4S7AB

Shack Custodian and Beacon custodian. Bharath Aponso 4S6ABC

Pidurutalagala Repeater: Mahinda Abeyewardhane 4S7PA

Yatiyantota: J. T. Wijeeratne  4S7VJ

Deniyaya: Jaliya Lokeshwara   4S7JL, Udaya Jayantha  4S5SC

QSL Manage: Uthpala Withana  4S7UV

Librarian Ranil Heemantha.

73 from 4S7VK

Hon. Secretary

Posted on

AGM Notice 2018

Dear Members,

Herewith I am announcing the notice of the 67th Annual General Meeting of the Radio Society of the Radio Society of Sri Lanka.


Notice is hereby given of the Annual General Meeting of the Radio Society of Sri Lanka which will be held on Sunday the 23rd of September 2018 at 10.30 A.M. in the Balcony Hall of the Otter Aquatic Club 380/1, Bauddhaloka Mawatha Colombo 7.

Members who wish to submit any resolutions should submit them to the Hony. Secretary seven days before the date of the AGM.


1. Reading the Notice convening the AGM of the RSSL.
2. Vote of condolence.
Tabling of messages of excuse
Reading and adoption of the minutes of the 66th AGM.
Matters arising out of the minutes
Reading and adoption of the Annual Report of the administrative year 2017/2018
Adoption of the Audited Financial Statement of Accounts for the year 2017/2018.
Address by the outgoing President.
Election of new office bearers for 2018/2019.
Election of Auditor.
Resolutions to be passed of resolutions of which 7 days notice has been given to the Hony. Secretary.
Address by the New President

By the order of the Council of Management

CristyPerera- 4S6CPT

Hony. Secretary.
The Radio Society of Sri Lanka.

Posted on

Lighthouse Dx-Pedition 4S7LGT from Dondra Lighthouse 2018

Dear Members,

RSSL is planning to have the Lighthouse Dxpediion this year at Dondra Lighthouse.

The event will start on the 18th Saturday noon and will continue until the members can operate the station. The members wishing to stay overnight should bring their tents/food and be prepared.  RSSL President and the council invites all members and SWLs to participate. The participants can give their name/ID details to the Hon. Secretary Tel 0715335818.

Christy Perera 4S6CPT

Hon. Secretary RSSL.